Resources and Literature

The start of the new year sees me starting some new online training. I have signed up for

Microsoft: DAT204x Introduction to R for Data Science.

This is being run in conjunction with Data camp and since I have audited some of the content that they offer for free I thought I would give it a try. There is an option to pay for the course and get a certificate, I’m going to give it a go and see what happens.

I am currently in the midst of writing a paper and have had some interesting comments from co-authors about the age of some of the literature that I have quoted. I believe that there can be value in referring to literature that has stood the test of time, especially when it it is still being very widely quoted. I also think that using some “classic” literature with new literature can be an indication that the authors know the literature well since many search engines are set to display the newest first by default and so may not throw up those older references. I was pleased therefore to read this blog by Manu Saunders on Ecology is not a dirty word   which extols the virtues of older literature. Whether I am bold enough to send this to my co-authors, well that’s another blog topic altogether.

I received an email today from the team at the FSC Tombio project and amongst their new year news was this link to a neat little key to the major groups of British grasses  http://tinyurl.com/zymmadh . Written by Rich Burkmar it only tells you which groups your specimen is mostly likely to be from but it is free and very simple to use and does give an excellent starting point in the identification of tricky grasses.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

